PHYS 106 Schedule
Week Date Day Reading Topic Labs
1 12-Jan Mon - Welcome, Course Information  
  14-Jan Wed 1.1-1.4 Stars, Planets & Humans Lab 0: Intro
  16-Jan Fri 1.5-1.8 Kepler, Science & Pseudoscience  
2 19-Jan Mon 2.1-2.6 Stars, Atoms & Estimation  
  21-Jan Wed 2.7-3.3 Aristotle vs. Galileo Lab 1: Galileo’s Observations
  23-Jan Fri 3.4-3.6 Velocity, Acceleration & Falling  
3 26-Jan Mon 4.1-4.3 Newton: Inertia, Law of Motion  
  28-Jan Wed 4.4-4.5 Weight vs. Mass & Force Lab 2: Human Kinematics
  30-Jan Fri 4.5-4.7 Automobiles & Momentum  
4 2-Feb Mon 5.1-5.3 Gravity  
  4-Feb Wed 5.3-5.6 Stellar Evolution Lab 3: Newton’s Laws
  6-Feb Fri 6.1-6.3 Work & Energy  
5 9-Feb Mon - Exam 1 Ch 1-5  
  11-Feb Wed 6.3-6.4 Work-energy Principle Lab: TBD
  13-Feb Fri 6.5-6.6 Conservation of Energy  
6 16-Feb Mon 6.7 Efficiency & Power  
  18-Feb Wed 7.1-7.2 2nd  Law of Thermodynamics Lab 4: Work, Energy, & Power
  20-Feb Fri 7.3-7.7 Entropy & Cars  
7 23-Feb Mon 7.8 Exponential Growth & Resources  
  25-Feb Wed 8.1-8.2 Electric Force & Atoms Lab 5: Heat Engines & Refrigerators
  27-Feb Fri 8.3-8.4 Atoms, Electric Current & Circuits  
8 2-Mar Mon - Exam 2 Ch 6,7  
  4-Mar Wed 8.5-8.6 Force Fields  & Electromagnetism Lab: TBD
  6-Mar Fri 9.1-9.2 Waves & Interference  
9 9-Mar Mon 9.3-9.5 Light & Electromagnetic Fields  
  11-Mar Wed 9.6-9.7 EM Spectrum & Solar Radiation Lab 6: Greenhouse Effect
  13-Mar Fri 9.8-9.9 Ozone Depletion & Global Warming  
10 16-Mar Mon 10.1-10.4 Constant Light Speed  
  18-Mar Wed 10.5-10.6 Time Dilation Lab 7 EM Lab
  20-Mar Fri 10.7 Relativity: Time Travel, Length Contraction  
XX 23-Mar Mon      
  25-Mar Wed      
  27-Mar Fri      
11 30-Mar Mon 10.8  Relativity: Speed, Mass & Energy  
  1-Apr Wed 12.1-12.3  Quantization Lab 8 Spectroscopy
  3-Apr Fri  Ch 10 Exam 3 Prep- Relativity  
12 6-Apr Mon Ch 8,9 Exam 3 Ch 8, 9, 10  
  8-Apr Wed  12.4-12.6 Quantum Matter & Randomness Lab: TBD
  10-Apr Fri 13.1-13.2  Uncertainty  
13 13-Apr Mon  13.3-13.5 Nonlocality & Entanglement  
  15-Apr Wed  13.6-13.7 The Quantum Atom Lab 9 Renewable Energy Lab
  17-Apr Fri  16.1-16.5 The Energy Challenge  
14 20-Apr Mon  16.6-16.7 Nuclear vs Coal  
  22-Apr Wed -  Quantum & Energy Review Lab10 TBD
  24-Apr Fri - Catch up & Course Review  
Finals 27-Apr Mon      
  29-Apr Wed      
  1-May Fri